Holiday Wreaths

Making a holiday wreath has become my own personal tradition (does two years in a row count as a tradition?). Wreaths are about as complicated as I like to get with my DIY, but  this wreath was definitely worth it. The example:

And here’s mine:

I did a few things differently. I used a hardback instead of a paperback which gives it more of a sculptural quality due to the heavier paper. I also added a little bit of gold glitter to the antiquing process because glitter makes everything better. 🙂 However, anyone who attempts this project be warned: use a book that’s 200 pages or more! She mentions that you’ll need a long(ish) book in the instructions, but I foolishly did not read that part and ended up substituting pages from a paperback (which are much lighter) in order to finish the center. Oh well! Perfection be damned, I think it turned out well. If you’re looking for something a little bit easier or you have a fear of hot glue, I’d definitely take a swing at the paper leaf wreath I made last year. Here’s the example:

And here’s mine:

Here’s a few more I’m thinking about attempting next year.

Felt:

And pom poms!

Via Paper Crave and Design*Sponge

Paper book wreath tutorial by Living with Lindsay

Paper leaf wreath tutorial by The Red Thread

Felt wreath tutorial by Domestifluff

Pom pom wreath tutorial by Bluebird Vintage

One thought on “Holiday Wreaths

  1. Pingback: Make Santa Wreath | nuoweiyu.com

Leave a Reply

